Creating a New User

If a new management member joins your team, you can easily make them a new user account for talentReef. There are two ways to create a new user: 
 
  1. Use the "Add" button to create a new user from scratch. 
  2. Use the "Clone" button to mimic an already created account and create consistency. 

Locating User Account Management

To access the list of your user accounts select “Admin” under the “Jump To” menu, then locate the "User Account Management" section and click “Configure”.



 

Creating a New User via the "Add" Button 

  • From the user account list select the “Add” button in the top right corner. 

  • The system will open a page where you can start defining the account. All fields marked with a red dot will be required fields.
  • Enter the credential information for your new user.
    • The username is what the person will log in to the system with (this can be formatted in multiple ways, for example using alpha/numeric characters or an email address).
    • For clients using Single Sign-On, this field represents the ID or Username the person authenticates with in the Identity Provider System. This field can be ignored for clients that do not use Single Sign-On.
    • Note: Usernames must be unique. If you try to save a user with an existing username, you will get an error message that states, “A user with that user name already exists.”
  • Enter the contact information for your new user. 
    • First name, last name, and email address are the minimum required fields.

 
  • Select appropriate user permissions. 
Note: By selecting a permission the user will be able to complete the corresponding action/activity in the system. For example, the permission in the Applicant Tracking section called “Create and Update Hourly Job Postings” will allow the user to create and edit job postings.

You can view all definitions of our user permissions by visiting this FAQ!


  • Assign the Locations and Departments that a user has access to.​
    • Any location/department combination selected will give the user access to view data and make transactions within those locations/departments. This works in combination with the user capabilities assigned. 
    • Example: If a user has the capability to view applicants and has access to location ABC and department 123, they will be able to view Applicants that apply to job postings for the corresponding location and department.
    • The list of locations/departments is displayed in the format: Location Description: Property Number --- Department Name

 
  • Scroll to the top of the screen and select "Save"


Creating a New User via the "Clone" Button 

Creating a new user by selecting clone is almost identical to adding a new user from scratch. You will see differences in selecting user permissions and locations. Cloning a user is a great way to create consistency among same level users. If you already have one general manager account, you can quickly clone that account for your new user and all user permissions selected will carry over.  
  • From the user account list select the "clone" button next to an account that you would like to copy. 

  • The system will open a page where you can defining the account. All fields marked with a red dot will be required fields.
  • Enter credentials information.
    • The username is what the person will log in to the system with (this can be formatted in multiple ways, for example using alpha/numeric characters or an email address).
    • For clients using Single Sign-On, this field represents the ID or Username the person authenticates with in the Identity Provider System. This field can be ignored for clients that do not use Single Sign-On.
    • Note: Usernames must be unique. If you try to save a user with an existing username, you will get an error message that states, “A user with that user name already exists.”
  • Enter Contact Information. 
    • First name, last name, and email address are the minimum required fields.

 
  • Review cloned user permissions. 
    • Because you have cloned an account, the user permissions will be copied from the original account. Review the selections and confirm you would not like to add or remove any of these pre-selected permissions. 
You can view all definitions of our user permissions by visiting this FAQ!


  • Review the Locations and Departments that a user has access to.​​
    • Because you have cloned and account, all locations and departments assigned to the original account will be selected. Review these selections and move your location/department combinations to either "available" (the user will not have access to the location/department combo) or "selected" ( The user will access to the location/department combo). 
    • Any location/department combination selected will give the user access to view data and make transactions within those locations/departments. This works in combination with the user capabilities assigned. 

 
  • Scroll to the top of the screen and select "Save"

 

User Permission

To access the list of user accounts or to create/update user accounts in a management console, the user will need to have the "user account administration" user permission.





 

Did you find this article helpful?